Post Holiday HS week

The Homeschool Mother's Journal Wow, what a week.   I am sure I am not the only one, but the week after an extended vacation can be so hairy.  Trying to get mommy and kids back into the groove of things can be so hard!  Not only do I really not want to do anything, I have to fake it enough to help the kids find their focus again.  It’s been a rough one for us especially because we had a nasty family situation during our Thanksgiving visit.

We did have a great field trip this week!!  We joined some other HS families at the Maryland Science Center.  Wow, what a great set up!  So many hands on things!  My kids excavated for dinosaur bones and saw/did so much more!!  The favorite part for my daughter was laying on a bed of nails that she really enjoyed! My son was fascinated by the digestive section (which was truly gross for the weak stomached).  We also enjoyed their display of a clogged artery because my father recently had a heart attack.  So seeing the difference in a clear and clogged artery and the challenge the blood has to move around was great for them!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We studied China this week, what beautiful landscapes and architecture!! I was also amazed at some of the history about the Great Wall and their political system. The kids just had fun making kites, tangrams, and the hopes of eating Chinese food tonight! One of our favorites!! I know, totally americanized, but still yummy! There is a foreign exchange student from China at our friend’s house, we are hoping to interview him tomorrow.

16 responses to “Post Holiday HS week

  1. Field trips at your own pace… another wonderful aspect of Homeschooling!

  2. We studied China last year and it was so interesting. There’s a great documentary on Netflix called “Wild China” which my children still talk about.

    I’m new to your blog – coming to you from The Homeschool Mother’s Journal!

  3. Kay, I am so sorry for your troubles during Thanksgiving…it’s hard going through tough times with loved ones. That field trip sounds fantastic…and just the thing for a Mom to do…when she really doesn’t feel like doing what she needs to with and for her kiddies!!!! I know the feeling… Thank you for sharing your heart! We enjoy some things on Netflix too….so glad you dropped by..

  4. The science museum sounds like a lot of fun. My kids love hands-on trips like that! 🙂 And, the study on China sounds very interesting.

    Thanks so much for visiting my blog and for your kind comments.
    Many blessings,
    Lisa

  5. I am so glad I am not the only homeschool mom who could not get fully motivated this week! I was just thinking yesterday how I’d love to just take off until after the New Year, but I know I would regret that as I’d never get any of us motivated again. LOL How cool you have the opportunity to interview the exchange student. That’s a unique way to really bring a geography study to life!

  6. Sorry about the nasty family situation – and thanks for stopping by my blog today!

  7. Museum sounds aweseome!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Cooking age? Well, around 10 for full dinner cooking (although nothing too complicated). My oldest son is almost 13 and has been planning and cooking complicated dishes for a year. My almost 10 year old daughter could make dinner NOW; dishes like spaghetti and meatballs, breakfast, baked chicken and potatoes.

  8. My 6 year old would have been all about the bed of nails. He saw that on 19 Kids & Counting the other day and keeps talking about it. I also have to “fake it” sometimes to things back to normal, ha. Hope you enjoyed your Chinese food! 🙂

  9. I wish I had, but attitudes had not improved and we didn’t make it for dinner. Oh well, such is life 🙂

Thank you for engaging!

